ONE YEAR LATER

SS Book Photo

I figure my readership today is probably around 25,000 people – more than 100 times the number I had just one year ago.

The good news is, there will definitely be a third Superior Mystery. I have already written about 42,000 words on it, which makes the rough draft about half finished. The bad news, is that I’m fighting a bit of writer’s block, though it is nothing I haven’t dealt with before.

So, to encourage myself to get back at it, I’m going to take a look at the past year of my writing life.

I finished Superior Justice in 2006, and published it on Amazon in ’08 after a fruitless year with an agent. As of one year ago, only about 200 people had read it. Between Justice and my first novel, a fantasy foray of which I am now slightly embarrassed, I had made maybe $1000 total, over the course of several years.

One year ago, I was almost finished with the rough draft of Superior Storm. I was writing with the assumption that about 200 people would read this one also. In other words, my total estimated readership was around 200.

Inspired by my good friend and author Eric Wilson, I began to market Superior Justice with free kindle downloads. When Storm was finally ready, I started doing the same thing with it.

One year later, about 22,000 people have downloaded Superior Justice, and somewhere around 28,000 have procured Superior Storm. I figure my readership today is probably around 25,000 people – more than 100 times the number I had just one year ago.

One year ago, I had about five total Amazon reviews. Today I have 69 reviews for each of the Superior Mysteries, or 138 total reviews, plus five or so for that embarrassing fantasy novel. Storm averages 4.5/5 stars; Justice 4.6/5.

I am not making best-seller money. But I am making a nice little part time income. A year ago, I only dreamed of a monthly paycheck for my fiction writing. That dream has been a reality for the past eleven months.

In the past few weeks, I have stumbled upon a book-club and two forums where my book is being discussed/reviewed. It’s a strange and wonderful feeling to know that strangers are out there, not only reading, but talking about, my work.

By the way, I know this is genre fiction. I don’t believe I am creating great literature for the ages, and I’m not expecting a Pulitzer. My books will hopefully entertain you for a few days, but they won’t change your life.

Even so, they are starting to change my life.

 

[Oh hey, before I go, I have  $0.99 promo on Superior Justice tomorrow, August 6th, 2013, on Amazon.]

3 comments

  1. Christy Borgen

    I started with Superior Justice because of the author (prior knowledge of him for college) but I read Superior Storm and am anxiously awaiting the third installment of the series because of the characters and writing. Way to go Tom!! You should be really proud of yourself.

  2. Denise Z.

    I got the first one free and liked it so much (as you know) I paid cash money for the second one. I started with you in e-book, but you’re good enough in my book to buy in paperback or even hardback. It’s not about making “Great Literature,” it’s about entertaining people and you do that quite well.

  3. Sharon Esmont

    I have read both of your books using Kindle for the PC and truly enjoyed each of them. Waiting eagerly for your next book.

Leave a Reply

